Kilmihil were beaten in the first round of the Senior Championship by Kilrush.
Score: Kilrush 3-7 Kilmihil 1-2

Team: Jim Anglim, Tom Downes, Dan Finucane, Dominic Mc Mahon, Teddy Murphy, Sean Murphy, James Mc Mahon, John Mc Mahon, Michael Normoyle, Liam O’Halloran, Kevin O’Halloran, Paudie Halpin, Thomas Mc Mahon, Pat Galvin, and Martin Murphy. Sub. Sean Quinlivan.

In May they played Blackweir in the first round of the U21 Championship.
“In the first round of the U21 Championship, played under perfect conditions at Cooraclare on Sunday, Kilmihil had a runaway victory over a much fancied Blackweir fifteen. After 10 minutes play, Kilmihil were 2-4 ahead and playing brilliant football, but after that their forwards eased off, and they had a total of 30 wides during the hour, as against 2 for Blackweir. For Kilmihil, O’Shea in goal was never called upon. The full back-line of Tom Downes, Dominic & Michael Mc Mahon, were in control. The Murphy brothers and Liam O’Halloran formed a very tight half-back line, while at centre-field, Paudie Halpin was one of the most able footballers on view, and was ably supported by Haulie Ryan. Ollie O’Gorman was a tower of strength at centre-forward. On his left Kevin O’Halloran got as much ball as any other four on the field, while Thomas Mc Mahon on the right wing ran rings around all opposition. At full-forward P.J, Keogh was always a danger, while on the left the third Murphy brother Martin, also impressed. Tom Earls was always dangerous.”

In September Kilmihil beat the U21 Champions of the previous two years, Doonbeg, which caused a major surprise. “In ideal conditions, and before a big crowd, at Miltown Malbay on Sunday they were caught napping by a determined Kilmihil team, in a thrill a minute game. For Kilmihil Frawley was never tested in goal. The full-back line of Tom Downes and the Mc Mahon’s Thomas and Michael never gave the Doonbeg attack a chance. The half-back line of the Murphy brothers, Sean and Teddy, and Liam O’Halloran gave a trying game to the Doonbeg forwards, while at centre-field Paudie Halpin was the most accomplished footballer on view. He was ably supported by Haulie Ryan. The half-forward line of Ollie O’Gorman, Jim Lillis and Kevin O’Halloran played brilliantly, but were erratic in their shooting.”

Team: Tom Frawley, Tom Downes, Thomas Mc Mahon, Michael Mc Mahon, Sean Murphy, Teddy Murphy, Liam O’Halloran, Paudie Halpin, Haulie Ryan, Kevin O’Halloran, Ollie O’Gorman, Jim Lillis, P.J. Murphy, Martin Keogh & Thomas Mc Mahon.

In October 1966 Kilmihil defeated Shannon Rovers (Shannon Gaels) in the Cusack Cup by 1-3 to 0-2.
“Best for the winners were James Mc Mahon, Liam O’Halloran & Teddy Murphy, the anchors of the back line, while outfield Dan Finucane and Michael Normoyle set the pattern of victory. Martin Murphy was their only forward of note, his goal in the second half being the only bright spot of forward-playing in the game.”

Team: Dominic Mc Mahon, James Mc Mahon, Liam O’Halloran, Teddy Murphy, Michael Normoyle, Tom Downes, Thomas Mc Mahon, Dam Finucane, Jim Anglim, T. Gorman, M. Carey, Martin Murphy, Paudie Halpin, Sean Quinlivan & Batt Crowley.

Junior B Hurling

Cahercanivan beat Coolmeen in Junior B Hurling in October 1966.

Also in October Kilmihil were defeated by Cooraclare in the Semi-Final of the Cusack Cup. The score was: Cooraclare 2-8 Kilmihil 0-4