Senior Championship

Kilmihil met the Faughs in the first round of the Senior Championship at Lissycasey and as in 1993 Kilmihil came from behind to force a draw.

Faughs dominated the first half and led at half time 0-7 to 0-4, the margin could have much larger were it not for a great save by Declan O’Halloran. Kilmihil pressed hard in the second half and Thomas Egan scored a vital goal with twelve minutes remaining. Five minutes later James Downes sent over the equalizer but Faughs responded with a point and in the first minute of injury time Niall O’Halloran scored the equalized after a good run by Gerry Hayes.

Final score: Faughs 0-10, Kilmihil 1-7.

Team: Declan O’Halloran, Kieran Browne, Declan O’Shea, Paddy Downes, Kevin Cotter, Alan Daly, John Hayes (Capt.), James Downes (0-1), Niall O’Halloran (0-1), Tommy Devine (0-1), Derek Murphy, Leonard Collins, Thomas Egan (1-0), Gerry Hayes & Ollie Breen (0-4).

Sub.: Gerry Downes for John Hayes.

In the replay Faughs were by far the better team. Kilmihil were first to score with a point from a free by Ollie Breen but Faughs replied with two points. Noel Normoyle levelled for Kilmihil however after fifteen minutes Faughs hit a purple patch and led at half-time 2-6 to 0-3. Kilmihil played better in the second half but could only manage three points while Faughs added four to leave the final score, Faughs 2-10, Kilmihil 0-6.



Kilmihil captured the Mid-West Clare Junior football title when they defeated Cooraclare on the score of 1-7 to 1-4. Andrew Johnston was in fine form scoring 1-1. After the game Anne Hayes presented the Talty Cup to Senan Callinan, captain of the Kilmihil team.